Posted in Thursday Thankfuls

Thursday Thankfuls: Air Conditioning!

As much as I love history, as much as I would be thrilled to be able to travel through time (still looking for a Time Lord or a Voyager out there, yanno), as much as I would totally geek out on being able to experience different points in the past, there’s one thing I’d hate to not have: air conditioning.

Okay, so there are a few more things like Advil and non-dairy flavored creamer and Trader Joe’s. And proper toothbrush and toothpaste.

Today we are muggy with the temperture looking into the 90s, and there is an air pollution alert on. This is when I love my air conditioner the most! Believe me, I’ve lived through a summer of record breaking heat in Oklahoma City a few years back, and I longed for a good air conditioner then.

The apartment I was renting did have central heat and air – the air conditioning unit just didn’t work. I kept asking the office to have it fixed, and they kept saying they were waiting on a part, or the guy was getting on it the next thing, or he was going to do it Tuesday but the storms kept him from working on the unit and now he’s busy elsewhere. I was loaned a small window unit that worked at first, but after about a month it was telling its age. I’d moved my top mattress into the living room so I could sleep where the cooler air was, and still took frozen bottles of water with me to bed to try and keep comfortable. With the heat index at or above 115° for over three weeks, and the temperature only down in the 80s at night, that barely helped. It never did get fixed, at least not before I moved out at the beginning of August. That was NOT a fun experience, at least not the loading part.

So YES! I love me some air conditioning!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

