Posted in cosmetics, subscriptions

Target Beauty Box – Summer 2015

As I said yesterday, I ordered not only the Walmart subscription box, but I was lucky enough to nab the summer version of the Target Beauty Box, too. I’ve heard that’s really hard to do, since they never have a set day to release it and only a limited number go out. This one sold out within a day!

Right off the bat, I liked the box. Hey, who couldn’t use more boxes to organize things? Though if you’re like me, you then have a pile of boxes and still no organization in sight…

The Target Beauty Box
The Target Beauty Box

Inside was a card telling a little about the five items enclosed, and a coupon for $3.00 off a beauty purchase of $15.00 or more, expiring at the end of this month. I use the Target card that gives you 5% off your purchase when i shop there. As a PharmacyRewards member, because I get prescriptions filled there, too, I receive a 5% off shopping card for every five prescriptions filled – and I believe I have one to use! All of that together will make a nice discount.

Inside the box...
Inside the box…

I know this is not the greatest lighting – the sunlight was some odd coral color yesterday, and I usually shoot in full sunlight. I think the one thing I’m not sure about in this shipment is the Fekkai Soleil pre-soleil hair mist with invisible sun filters. I’m guessing from the package and the photo on the website that they gave out random Fekkai hair products, and I happened to get one to protect my hair in the sun. I’ll probably use this a few times, but I really am not out in the sun without a hat on very often. It is a good size sample, though – something easily stashed in your purse or beach bag. If I wind up using it a lot and liking it, I’d probably try to refill it from the full size to keep toting around!

Two tried and true brands!
Two tried and true brands!

I have really been looking forward to trying the Cutex One-Step Pads, hoping they work as advertised. Now I have a little box of three to experiment with! I’ve also been wanting to try the Olay Regenerist Luminous HydraSwirl Eye Cream (what a mouthful that name is). I like the way it goes on, and it does seem to reflect the light just a bit to make my eyes look brighter. I’ll keep using it and see how it works after a few days. By the way, this is also a nice sized sample.

Colors!
Colors!

A full-sized lipstick (Revlon’s Ultra HD lipstick in Gladiolus) was included, plus a $1.00 off coupon for another shade of this lipstick. It’s pretty interesting – a wax-free gel. It’s light on your lips, but maybe just a tad dry at first. That could just be me, too. I like the color in the tube, but when I put it on it turned out to be a bit more orangey than my skin tone can handle. Still, I can always add a gloss or another tint on top of it if I really want to. Or… I can go buy a different shade! With the coupon!

And the real reason I was so happy to snag this box? The Sinful Colors Professional nail polish! In the photo on the website they were showing a blue color. I wasn’t that thrilled with the blue simply because I already have quite a few blues. (I love that color, don’t get me wrong!) But when I opened the box I was happy to find this metallic copper color, Supernova, instead of the blue. I have a few Sinful Colorspolishes already, and they wear really well – and for only $1.99 a bottle you really can’t go wrong. If you’re still unsure, check out the Consumer Reports comparison that places Sinful Colors over even Chanel Le Vernis nail color.

All in all, I am very happy with the Target Beauty Box. Yes, it’s gone from $5.00 to $7.00, but for this I think it’s worth it. I believe the website said this was $40.00 worth of stuff? I will definitely be on the lookout for the autumn box in a few months!

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

