Posted in cosmetics, shopping, subscriptions

Walmart Beauty Box – Summer 2015 **Spring! Not Summer!

While looking for different subscription boxes I could try out (at not much cost, thanks!), I saw both Walmart and Target have “Beauty Boxes”. They are both relatively cheap, and since they only ship once a season, I figured why not give them a go?

Last Friday my first Walmart Beauty Box showed up on my doorstep. Cool! I had seen a few unboxing videos for previous ones, and loved that they give at least one full-sized cosmetic item plus some travel or deluxe sample sized things. Here’s a photo of the most exciting part for me!

The beauty box!
The beauty box!

Yeah… Unfortunately, the anticipation was the best this time around. See, what I didn’t know when I ordered this was that Walmart has two different boxes: one for those subscribers who are under the age of 35, and one for those of us 35 and over – or as one blogger called it: “The old lady box”. I’ve found others who have blogged and vlogged about the discrepancy between the two hauls, so I know I’m not the only one miffed at this.

A perfume sample...
A perfume sample…

This seems to have been in both boxes for spring, too – Lady Gaga Fame Black Fluid. It smells okay, and I wouldn’t be averse to wearing it out to run to the grocer’s or something, but there’s just some little thing about it that smells more like a drugstore cologne than a perfume I’d usually wear. (Of course, you have to understand my go-to perfumes are Dior’s J’Adore, Lanvin’s Arpege and My Sin – which my mother wore, and a few of the Tocca perfumes. Rather more classic scents.) I’ll definitely stick this in my purse for when I want a spritz, though it will be doing battle with the Florabotanica by Balenciaga that’s already in there.

The body lotions...
The body lotions…

Jergens has always made good, if not spectacular, products, so I was curious to check out this BB Body – a beauty balm for the rest of the body. It says on the back that this will instantly visibly improve skin and gradually perfects skin over five days. I tried it – and was transported for a few moments back to my senior year of high school. I was in French class, sitting behind my friend Daria, watching her apply foundation – yes, Cover Girl liquid makeup – to her legs in order to make them look smoother and have a bit of color. She did this not just once, but quite a few times – enough to where I have a photo of her doing this somewhere still. It did blend in with my skin after a bit, but I’m not sure I cared for that. I will say it felt nice on my skin, and the fragrance is nice and delicate.

Then there was the Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula body lotion. I can always use some cocoa butter stuff! I opened it – and had a sudden yearning to go to the Dairy Shed for a hot fudge sundae. Why? Because that’s what this stuff smells like to me. (Hims thought it smelled like a bunch of women sunbathing on the beach.) It felt nice going on, though maybe a little thick. I just can’t see myself buying this over other products I use.

Shampoo and conditioner...
Shampoo and conditioner…

I like L’Oreal. I used to use their shampoo and conditioner before my taste began to swing towards Wen products and all. This shampoo and conditioner duo smell really nice, a bit like apples! And they will be handy for overnight trips – or for when I am going to wash my hair and I realize there’s no more shampoo in the house. Yes, that happens! This is the Total Repair 5 restoring shampoo, so I won’t mind using it.

The little foil packets are a company I’ve never heard of: Ken Paves. The “name” of the hair line is “You Are Beautiful”. I have a smoothing shampoo, a smoothing conditioner, and a thick conditioning mask in this. The big problem with me is that I have long hair, and there’s no way in the world these bitty foils are going to be enough for my hair – especially not the mask. Hims won’t be bothered to mess with foil packets in the shower, either.

And more foils...
And more foils…

Okay – I do loves me some Burt’s Bees, and have been wanting to try the Renewal intensive firming serum out of curiosity. (Mainly because it’s Burt’s Bees!) There is a $3.00 off coupon with the one-use foil, and I will likely use that coupon soon.

Next is a foil for Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula skin therapy oil. It says it helps improve the appearance of fine lines & wrinkles, dark spots, uneven skin tone, and aging skin. Not something I would use, really – I have some argan oil and I have some Burt’s Bees Repair Serum with attar of rose, so I really don’t need this.

Then there’s Garnier, whose shampoos and conditioners I loved awhile back, too. This is a tiny foil packet, something you are probably finding in magazines like a few of these other things. It’s an Ultra-Lift Miracle Sleeping Cream… another “old lady” product. And there’s a $2.00 coupon for any Garnier moisturizer. Again, not something I would use right now.

And other coupons...
And other coupons…

I now have a coupon for skin therapy oil I most likely will never use, and a coupon for a full-size spray deodorant. At least I do use Degree!

Now, watching the unboxings from spring, I noticed something. The L’Oreal shampoo and conditioner, the Burt’s Bees Renewal serum packet, the Lady Gaga perfume, and the Garnier Ultra-Lift foil packet were all in the previous box. Now granted, *I* didn’t get that box, but think about the women who are getting repeats of this stuff.

I know, it was just five dollars, right? It’s not so much the money as the fact the under-35s seem to get the fun stuff while over-35s are getting lots and lots of moisturizers and shampoo. Yawwnnn

I’ll stick with the Walmart box another season or two, but if they don’t up their game, I’ll just cancel my subscription. Definitely disappointment in a box, especially after seeing all the under-35 unboxings.

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

One thought on “Walmart Beauty Box – Summer 2015 **Spring! Not Summer!

Leave a Reply

