Posted in Ohio, photos

Friday Photography: A Silly Little Day Trip

It’s Memorial Day Weekend, a three-day or sometimes four-day weekend for many people. It’s not all about the start of summer vacations, or barbeques, or long-weekend trips to the coast – Memorial Day is a day of remembrance of all the men and women who lost their lives while serving in the military. So far, I’ve uncovered only one person who was killed during wartime in my family tree – my great grand-uncle John Linsey Ingle, wounded in a battle at Black River Bridge, Mississippi, and died of his wounds in a hospital in Memphis, Tennessee, in 1863. (I might write more about him on Monday.)

We are taking advantage of the long weekend and taking a few day-trips around the area. I love being able to just go and drive somewhere, explore little new places and revisit places I’ve been to before and loved.

Driving around a bit this morning, we picked a few things up that we needed in “regular life”, and tried to get on a highway – only to be cut off by a large truck. Oh well! Undaunted, Hims turns into a small doctor’s office parking lot. Next to it, hidden from the road by some thick trees, was a house that seemed to be undergoing renovation. I smiled up to the man working near the Dumpster, hoping he wouldn’t be mad at our slight trespass.

2015 05 22 Dumpster 1

He didn’t wave back. He didn’t acknowledge me at all. In fact, Hims then asked if I brought my camera, which I hadn’t, though I did have my cell phone. “Too bad,” he said. “That’s just creepy.” And then I realized that wasn’t a person after all, but a mannequin hanging out over the Dumpster! Naturally, me being me, I had to then get out of the car and walk over to take a couple photos.

2015 05 22 Dumpster 2

Getting on the highway, we drove up to a college town called Yellow Springs. It’s and artsy and hippy kind of town, and proud of it! Lots of history, too, like the place we headed for lunch: Ye Old Trail Tavern. It’s Ohio’s oldest tavern, and serves some really good food from a small menu.

Ye Old Trail Tavern in Yellow Springs
Ye Old Trail Tavern in Yellow Springs

After walking around a bit and browsing in a few shops, we found our way back to the car and set out to go to the farmers’ market, which just opened its summer season today in Bellbrook. On the way, we got to look out across beautiful fields with new crops planted in them like this one:

2015 05 22 Xenia - Field

And because I am who I am, and I love doing things like this… I painted my nails sort of red, white, and blue for the holiday yesterday. I know they aren’t the neatest!

Fun, patriotic nails - thanks to Zoya.
Fun, patriotic nails – thanks to Zoya.

The polishes I used were all by Zoya. The red is Sarah, the silver is Trixie, and the blue is Song. I felt like being all sparkly!

Have a great and safe weekend, everyone!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

