Posted in Ipsy haul, makeup

April’s Ipsy Haul

I’ll be honest – I was going to give Ipsy this month to send me something I really liked in my GlamBag. If it didn’t happen, I was going to cancel it and go to BirchBox. For the past few months, there’s really been nothing that thrilled me in my Ipsy hauls, and I figured I could spend the ten dollars a month elsewhere. My friend, G., isn’t too happy with what Ipsy sends her, either. (For a woman who makes as sure as possible they know she hates pink, they seem to find great delight in sending her ONLY pink, frou-frou items.)

So I didn’t expect much when I saw that hot pink foil envelope in the mailbox this morning.

Color me pleasantly surprised.

2015 04 April full bag

First things first: There have been times I opened the foil envelope and received a nosefull of plastic-smell from the makeup bags they always include. This time it wasn’t nearly as pungent, and the smell was gone completely within an hour of leaving it out on the table. I also like the design of this one! It’s cute and doesn’t scream “cosmetic bag” at you.

The nail polish is: JulieG Nail Color in what might be Pin-Up Girl **Correction – the color is Damsel, according to Ipsy**. The color isn’t on the bottle, and when I looked it up on the Jessie’s Girl/ JulieG site, that’s what most closely matches it. I like the color, and it seems as though it will go on in one, maybe two, coats. The bottle is full-sized, too, and came with a $1.00 off coupon for a Jessie’s Girl or JulieG product at Rite Aid. Not that I usually shop at Rite Aid, but for this I might make an exception.

The lip gloss is: Starlooks in Cuddle. Yay for a lip product that doesn’t smell like chemicals and has a color I like! (Unlike the last one with a color I liked but STILL stinks like a plastics factory!) It might be a little sticky for some people, but I like it anyway. Matches well with my skin and isn’t too dark or too light for my lips.

The eyeshadow is: The Balm’s Nude Dude in Fit. Cute packaging, a lot like Benefit’s packaging. Good color pay-off that’s not too overwhelming. I can layer it to bring out more color if I want. And the powder is nice and silky. I really like the whole collection, and might just find a way to spring for it!

The face serum is: Hey Honey’s Good Morning – Honey Silk Facial Serum. No pungent smell – no smell really at all. Very lightweight, smooth, doesn’t gunk up on my skin. I like this one, too – which is a change, as I usually don’t care much for lotions and serums and hair products they send me.

The eau de parfum is: Aromachology’s Sophisticated and Sensual Floral. I can be a total scent snob, but I really really REALLY liked this one. The scent even overcame that fact it’s a rollerball. (Only thing I dislike more than a rollerball is the sponge at the top instead of a ball, but I haven’t seen that in ages.) THIS I would actually buy. It also gets mega points for being an eau de parfum instead of just a cologne or a toilette water. I do eau de parfum or perfume whenever possible because the oil-to-water ratio is higher, and the scent lasts longer.


So yes – Ipsy gets another month in my mailbox. Here’s hoping for a good May, too! And if you’d like to try these monthly gifties, too, here’s the link to get you started: Get Started With Ipsy!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

5 thoughts on “April’s Ipsy Haul

    1. I am a total nail polish junkie, with lip-stuff not too far behind. This gloss has already been used all day yesterday, and I think the polish will be tried out later on today. (That might even wind up in another post… I’m such a goob about that!)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I think so, too! I’m not the biggest fan of pink nail polish, but this is one looks like it might be a winner. I’m going to try it later on today – my current polish began chipping just in time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

