Posted in family, Thursday Thankfuls

Thursday Thankfuls: Letters

The past week got away from me – sorry! Because of that, I am doubling up on Thursday Thankfuls and Friday Photography. It’s not like I don’t have enough to be thankful about (or that there’s a dearth of photos in my stash, either)!

When I was little, Mom used to press home the importance of hand-written correspondence. Now, this was well before everyone had five email addresses and IMs and phones to text with at a moment’s notice. She made it clear that thank you notes were to be sent for gifts at Christmas and on birthdays and whenever else you might receive something. Even if you were going to see Grandma this weekend, you still wrote a small thank you to her for the sweater she gave you for Valentine’s Day. I hate to admit it, but my thank yous and just regular correspondence like that have fallen by the wayside as an adult, when a quick email or phone call “does the trick”. And that’s a shame.

My Mom has been in a rehabilitation hospital for about two months now, recovering from a stroke she had the day after Thanksgiving. The first couple days I was unsure if she would make it, but I’m grateful she did. Unfortunately, the phone in her room doesn’t seem to ring when someone calls, so I’ve only been able to speak with her a few times since she’s been there. I do, however, have the address of the hospital!

Yes, the many, many mini-lectures I received growing up are still in my head, and thankfully so – I write little letters to Mom each week, and just sent my parents a card for Valentine’s Day. To brighten up her room, I ordered some non-Valentine’s-Day flowers for her yesterday, and they should be delivered sometime today. Dad told me a few weeks ago that Mom loves getting my little letters, and I’m happy to know that. It’s another thing she instilled in me that I’m very thankful for.

The things you realize when you’re an adult, huh?

(And yes, I have been in contact with the hospital and trying to get the phone situation fixed, though that won’t keep me from sending her letters. Yesterday I was promised that maintenance will go and look at it. Hims wonders if they have long distance calls blocked from coming in by mistake, which is another thing I will ask them to check if this isn’t resolved soon.)

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

