Posted in Thursday Thankfuls

Thursday Thankfuls: I’m Not The Only One!

There has always been this irrational fear I’ve had concerning my home and landlords. I’m terrified they will evict me immediately if they come inside the home and see that I am not the neatest person in the world – which I’m not. Usually any termite or heater or plumbing inspections are preceded by a 24 to 48 hour notice, which gives me a panicked day or so to try and make everything look perfect. (It rarely winds up that way.) Then I hold my breath and hope a cat doesn’t make a smelly deposit right before the landlord or managers show up.

I’ve been known to call in sick just to give myself extra time to clean. Or panic. They seem interchangeable at these times.

It’s rare that I will even answer the door unless it’s FedEx or UPS if I’m not expecting someone. And yes, it’s the same fear that causes that.

For years, I have known this was probably pretty ridiculous. There is no reason I would be evicted, but that is still a shadow in my mind. I just thought it was thanks to my wildly running imagination, and nothing I could control. I just had to suck it up and deal with it every time I heard a knock on the door or got that 24-hour notice.

Then a couple days ago, someone on Facebook commented about her fear of the landlord doing a routine bug inspection and evicting her because her place (with small children!) wasn’t spic and span. Then others commented about having the same fears… and one even admitted to nearly freaking out when the doorbell would ring unexpectedly. It’s still irrational, I’m sure, but here are intelligent, rational people dealing with the same thing I’ve thought was unique to my brand of terrors!

What a Thankful this was, to find out I’m not alone in this at all!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

