Posted in fitness, photos, Uncategorized, walking, weather, Weight Watchers

I Told You!

I said I would, and I did – and just in time, since there’s really cold rain with some icy bits falling outside now!

My hikers on the bike path in all the melt this noon… with my feet in them!

Fallen tree bark in the meltiness.
Fallen tree bark in the meltiness.

It’s just above freezing outside. The wind began to pick up a little on my way back home, but otherwise the cold really didn’t bother me. My breathing, on the other hand, wasn’t so easy. I already don’t breathe all that well in the cold thanks to some asthma, but adding nearly a whole second person to my frame really makes it tough. On the great news, my lower back didn’t ache! While I could feel it in my leg muscles (which is really embarrassing now that I think about it – how out of shape did I let myself get???), my back felt fine.

There were two men on the trail behind me somewhere, their voices happy and laughing. It was nice hearing that as I snapped some shots of my walk. It was also nice to see grass beneath the snow, and to not have gotten the eight to twelve inches of snow they were predicting last night!

Little hills of grass.
Little hills of grass.

 

Thankfully, it’s not quite this dark out there at noon, but it can sometimes seem that way…

It almost looks black and white, or like a setting for a suspense movie.
It almost looks black and white, or like a setting for a suspense movie.

I was going to walk back on the sidewalks just for a change, but after taking a couple photos on the little walking bridge, I started down the other side – and realized there was a thin sheet of ice all the way down. Even the treads were a bit slick. back to the path for me!

On the walking bridge, with snow and ice and moss. But I'm here!
On the walking bridge, with snow and ice and moss. But I’m here!

And because i will probably forget to post this tomorrow: a groundhog burrow for Groundhog Day! (The one day of the year I never mind clouds.)

Please, please, please, Mr. Groundhog - don't be scared back into your burrow by the sun tomorrow!
Please, please, please, Mr. Groundhog – don’t be scared back into your burrow by the sun tomorrow!

 

(Okay, that might also be a rabbit hole. Both rabbits and groundhogs are all over the place here. But let’s say it’s what I say it is, just because, okay?)

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

